Knowledge and Insights

Taxpayer Bill Of Rights Recently Adopted By IRS

Person Paying Bills on Calculator

At the urging of the taxpayer advocate for the past seven years, the IRS recently adopted the Taxpayer Bill of Rights. While the rights are not new, this is the first time that the IRS has taken the rights previously scattered throughout the tax code and legislation and put them in one place. The IRS will be sending copies of the rights with millions of pieces of correspondence that it sends to taxpayers annually.

Similar to the U.S. Constitution’s Bill of Rights, the Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains 10 provisions. They are:

  1. The Right to be Informed
  2. The Right to Quality Service
  3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax
  4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard
  5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum
  6. The Right to Finality
  7. The Right to Privacy
  8. The Right to Confidentiality
  9. The Right to Retain Representation
  10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System

For help with your tax issues or to learn more about the above, contact: Richard S. Willinger, CPA, MST, CGMA, Managing Director at (609) 689-9700 or