Knowledge and Insights
The New Jersey State Legislature passed a new Paid Sick Leave Act, that takes effect on Monday, October 29, 2018. Below we’ve summarized the highlights for you to ensure your business is in compliance with the new law.
- Who is affected?
- Anyone who employs another individual
- When does the Act go into effect?
- Monday, October 29, 2018
- What can paid sick time be used for?
- Time needed for diagnosis, care or treatment
- Time needed to aid or care for family members
- Absence necessary due to circumstances resulting from the employee or family member being a victim of domestic or sexual violence
- Time during which the employee is not able to work due to closure of work place or school or place of employee’s child care
- Time needed by an employee to attend a school related conference, meeting, function or other event requested or required by school administrator, teacher or professional staff member
- Important points of the new law:
- For every 30 hours worked the employee earns one hour of paid sick leave
- Hours earned and not used carry over to the next year – up to 40 hours
- If an employee is terminated or laid off, but then hired back within six months, any prior earned and unused sick time shall be reinstated
- If three consecutive days are used at one time, employers have the right to request documentation (i.e. doctor’s note) before issuing sick pay
- An employer may provide or offer an employee payment of unused sick time in the final month of the plan’s calendar year
- Employers are not required to pay employees for earned sick time at end of employment
- Records of time earned and used must be kept for five years
If you would like more information or have any questions or concerns about the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 609-689-9700.